Skip navigation links
Parents & Students
Budget Facts

 Board of Education Members



Jim Hansen, Board President

Jim Hansen was elected to the Rapid City Area School Board in June of 2011. Hansen has been with the Rapid City Police Department for 23 years. He was a RCPD school liaison officer at RC Central High School for several years. He is an instructor in several areas for the RCPD as well as for the State of South Dakota. In addition to his law enforcement experience, Hansen owned and operated a security company in the Black Hills for several years. He is the Vice President of the South Dakota Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) as well as the current President of FOP Lodge 2 in Rapid City. Hansen is a member of the North Rapid Civic Association. He and his wife Connie have six children, two who are still students in the RCAS district.

Jim is the Area 4 representative, 2014-2017.

Jim Hansen 
1722 Space Court
Rapid City, SD 57701



 Laura Schad, 1st Vice President

Laura Schad joined the School Board during 2011. She currently works at National Relief Charities as the Program Information Coordinator where she continues her work on Indian Reservations in the Plains and Southwest. She holds an Associates degree in Early Childhood from Oglala Lakota College and has maintained a small consultant business with tribal Head Start programs. Prior to NRC, she was employed as a federal contractor through the Academy for Educational Development and American Indian Institute (University of Oklahoma) providing training and technical assistance to American Indian Head Start programs. Laura was also employed with Rural America Initiatives in Rapid City for 10 years and is now serving on the Board of Directors. Laura is a member of the Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe and is married to Ralph Schad. They have three daughters, all graduates of Central High School, two of which attend California universities and one recent college graduate.

Laura is the Area 7 representative, 2012-2015.

Laura Schad
6001 South Side Drive
Rapid City, SD 57703

Home: 393-9828



Matt Stephens, 2nd Vice President

Matt Stephens has been a member of the RCAS Board of Education since July 2012. Stephens holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration with an emphasis in Economics from the University of South Dakota and a Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Nebraska - Lincoln. He maintains a private law practice at Stephens Law Office where he has been in practice since September 1994. Stephens is a former member of the South Dakota Army National Guard, where he obtained the rank of First Lieutenant. 

Matt and his wife Vicki have three children, one attending SDSU after graduating from Rapid City Central, and two other children currently attending Rapid City Central. Stephens himself is a 1986 Rapid City Central graduate. 

Matt is the Area 1 representative, 2012-2015.

Matt Stephens
4513 Jewel Court
Rapid City, SD 57701




Sheryl Kirkeby, Board Member.  

Sheryl Kirkeby has served on the RCAS Board of Education since 2000. She was President for the 2007-08, 2008-09, 2012-2013, and 2013-2014 school years. Kirkeby possesses a bachelor’s in social science with a minor in business and middle school education. She served as a substitute teacher within the district for two years and was nominated as Substitute Teacher of the Year. Kirkeby is employed with KOTA Territory News and is married with four children who have all graduated from Rapid City Schools. She also has six grandchildren, three of whom have attended school in Rapid City. She has held many committee positions as well as officer positions for the board and was elected as a state ASBSD board member in 2011.

Sheryl is the Area 2 representative, 2012-2015.

Sheryl Kirkeby
315 E Philadelphia St
Rapid City, SD 57701

Home: 343-4003
Work: 394-7777
Cell: 381-7383




Dave Davis, Board Member

Dave Davis is new to the RCAS Board of Education in 2013. Dave has owned an American Family Insurance agency since 1995. Additionally, he is a motivational speaker and facilitates leadership academies around the country for Harley-Davidson Motor Company. Prior to moving to Rapid City in 1983, Dave taught EMT courses for the State of Iowa. Davis’s involvement reaches out to many community organizations, including the Rapid City Common Council, the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center Board, Rapid City Area Chamber of Commerce and currently serves as the Board President of the Sturgis Motorcycle Museum and Hall of Fame.

Dave has been married to his wife Joan, a Rapid City Area School teacher, since 1975 and they have two children who both are Steven’s graduates.

Dave is the Area 3 representative, 2013-2016.

Dave Davis
2622 Harvard Avenue
Rapid City, SD 57702 


Home: 348-2290
Cell: 431-2300




Ed McLaughlin, Board Member

Ed McLaughlin joined the School Board in October, 2013. Ed taught in the K-12 system, the United States Air Force candidate school and also served as a principal and superintendent. Ed was a Rapid City Common Council Alderman and served as Rapid City Mayor from 1991 to 1997. He also served in the South Dakota Legislature from 2002 to 2010 and was Chairman of the House Education Committee. Ed and his wife, Doris Marie Strom, are active community members and have two grown sons who were educated in the Rapid City schools.

Ed is the Area 5 representative, 2014-2017.

Edward McLaughlin
4032 West Main St.
Rapid City, SD 57702

Home: 343-8713




Jeff Nelsen, Board Member

Jeff Nelsen was elected to the RCAS Board of Education in 2010. Nelsen has a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from SDSM&T and spent fifteen years working in industry. In addition, he has twenty years experience in the construction industry and ten years of sales experience. His community involvement includes serving on the City/County Drug and Alcohol Advisory Board and the Partnership Rapid City Working Board. Nelsen is currently pursuing a Master's degree at SMSM&T and is married to mystery author, Karen Hall. They have two grown children and five grandchildren. 

Jeff is the Area 6 representative, 2013-2016.

Jeff Nelsen
1800 Kings Road
Rapid City, SD 57702




Dr. Timothy M. Mitchell, Superintendent

Dr. Timothy Mitchell, Ed.D, became the Superintendent of Schools for the Rapid City Area Schools in Rapid City, South Dakota on July 1, 2010.  He previously served as the Superintendent of Schools of the Chamberlain School District 7-1 in Chamberlain, South Dakota.  He served in that position from 1995-2010.  He received his M.A. in Educational Administration (1995), his Ed.S in School Superintendency (2000) and his Ed.D in School Superintendency (2008) from the University of South Dakota in Vermillion, South Dakota. His dissertation “South Dakota Public School Superintendents’ Perception of Innovation” is an in-depth study of innovative leadership characteristics of superintendents, public school districts and school boards in South Dakota.   

He has served on the Executive Board of the South Dakota School Superintendents Association (SDSSA) and was President during the 2005-2006 school year.  He has served on the Executive Board of the School Administrators of South Dakota (SASD) and was President for the 2006-2007 school year.  He currently serves on the American Association of Administrators (AASA) National Governing Board.

Timothy Mitchell
300 Sixth Street
Rapid City, SD  57701

Work: 605-394-4031
Cell: 605-730-0637